IT´S BEEN ONE YEAR SINCE TROY DAVIS WAS EXECUTED

 

Maryland Death Penalty Repeal – Special Issue September 19, 2012

 Hello abolitionists,

It’s been one year since Troy Davis was executed.
Help keep his memory alive.

Leading up to the moment Troy Davis was executed one year ago – Sept. 21 at 11:08pm – Amnesty International USA is asking all of our partners to honor Troy Davis and show support for Reggie Clemons, a man who remains on death row despite shockingly similar flaws in the case against him, as well as support California’s ballot initiative to abolish the death penalty, Proposition 34:

· Tweet a message of support using the #IamTroy or #TooMuchDoubt hashtags throughout the day on Sept. 21 (Amnesty will be tweeting a new fact every hour).

· Tweet a message at the exact moment Troy Davis was executed one year ago – Sept. 21 at 11:08pm – to honor Troy’s memory

· Share these graphics on your Facebook page:

·       https://www.facebook.com/amnestyusa#!/photo.php?fbid=10151040332481363&set=pb.7192716362.-2207520000.1347631744&type=1&theater

·       http://www.amnestyusa.org/sites/default/files/troyjustice.jpg

· Email a message (or post on your website) to your fans asking them to take one or both of these actions: http://www.amnestyusa.org/reggie OR http://www.amnestyusa.org/iamtroy (live on Sept 20)

· Change your profile picture to any graphic in support of Troy Davis:

SAMPLE TWEETS

Troy: “The struggle for justice doesn’t end with me” #IamTroy

Troy: “This struggle is for all the Troy Davises… who will come after me” #IamTroy

What if #TroyDavis was innocent? California – vote #YESon34

#TroyDavis proved the #deathpenalty must go. CA vote #YESon34

Is Reggie Clemons the next Troy Davis? #IamTroy

On Sept 21 @ 11:08pm, Georgia killed Troy Davis #IamTroy

#IamTroy Witness: “After a couple of hours of the detectives…threatening me, I…told them what they wanted.”

#TooMuchDoubt KM, witness: “Troy never confessed to me…about the shooting. I made up the confession.”

Witness: “the officers…gave me a statement…I signed it. I did not read it because I cannot read.”

Juror: “If I knew then what I know now #TroyDavis would not be on death row…verdict would be not guilty.”

Witness: “I [said] #TroyDavis was the shooter, even though…I didn’t see who shot the officer.”

Witness: “I am not proud for lying at Troy’s trial, but the police had me so messed up.”

Reggie: “It’s like … telling you that I’m going to kill you someday…I just haven’t decided when.”

The cases against Troy Davis and Reggie Clemons are textbook for why the death penalty must end #IamTroy

Did you know that the most reliable predictor of someone being sentenced to death is the race of the victim? #IamTroy

 

If you have any questions, comments or feedback, feel free to contact our SDPACs, Andrea Hall (andreainrockville@yahoo.com) or Kevin Scruggs (kevin.a.scruggs@gmail.com).

Thanks again for your interest in abolishing the death penalty!

In Solidarity,

Andrea, Kevin, and the Amnesty International USA Death Penalty Abolition Campaign

Follow us on Twitter and Facebookfor more updates!

Opportunities and Upcoming Events:

·       Be sure to sign our online petition to Governor O’Malley:http://tinyurl.com/omalleydp

·       Monday, January 21: Rally and Lobby Night in Annapolis. Save the date!

·       Not from Maryland, but want to help? Contact Andrea or Kevin for more information about how you can support repeal!

 

 
 
5 thoughts on “IT´S BEEN ONE YEAR SINCE TROY DAVIS WAS EXECUTED

  1. Pingback: Georgia Killed an Innocent Man: God is Not Pleased | Black Write & Read

    • “An individual has not started living until he can rise above the narrow confines of his individualistic concerns to the broader concerns of all humanity.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.
      Hi, thank You for commenting this very important article about Troy.
      I am Troy´s sister, You will not laugh about me telling You this.
      Each day I remember Troy, each time, I remember him, I could weep.
      Yesterday I saw a report about Philadelphia and the “crime-life” there.
      And I am a witness now: I saw a young man on the floor, on the street, without consciousness.
      The BBC-Reporter asked the policeman, what about this young man.
      The policeman answered: I turned around and hit the head of this man, accidently.
      Accidently? Reviewing we could see that this policeman hit with his elbow with full speed
      and power the head of this young man. Did I tell You, that this young was b l a c k ?
      Unbearable, but we are witnesses here in Germany what You have to suffer there …
      It is not hidden from our eyes…
      Dr. Annamaria Grabowski (blogwriter of http://www.humansinshadow.wordpress.com/ and more …)

  2. In an attempt to resurrect my own hope and faith following Troy’s tragic execution, I decided to take his last letter to me and transpose it into a poem. It’s my attempt to show that TROY IS STILL SPEAKING, that his message is more alive than ever…

    THE TURNING
    ~ a poem both for and by Troy Davis,
    composed using only the words
    from his last letter to me ~

    In this world, each word is life—
    The heart of tomorrow
    Already touched with believing,
    The hope I pray
    To bless into being;

    For freedom keeps the page of change
    Filled with the “if” of God,
    Enough that you and I express
    What’s fighting to be Cause;

    So read this world, this poem, as life—
    As Troy, as family—
    And thank the better heart that wrote
    Each wanted word for me.

    *****
    In unity,

    Roxanne Ivey
    Poet for Positive Change
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/roxanneivey

    • Roxanne, thank You for Your comment; do You like it to post on my blog here?
      By the way: I studied theology & psychology et al.
      We have a good base: we fight in love f o r not again.
      Annamaria

Leave a Reply

